February 23, 2010

  • Territory

    So…Special Someone and I bought a new mattress on Saturday.  A “select-number” firmness type of mattress.  It was being delivered today so last night I stripped the old mattress in the master bedroom to get ready.  Among other things the dust-ruffle was safety pinned to the old box-spring and it took forever to get unfastened.

    So I slept in the guest room last night.  And discovered that I had broken several rules.

    A) Downstairs is cat territory.

    B) The guest bed is cat exclusive.

    C) Breaking “routine” is a cat no-no.

    D) Breaking Cat rules results in a largely restless night.

    E) Invading cat territory means slamming doors, constant scratching in the litter box and commando dashes across the bed.

    I have learned my lesson.  Besides…tonight we get to break in the new bed.

Comments (6)

  • My classmate is having trouble sleeping with her new cat for the same reasons. Thank God I’m a dog person.

    Don’t get the new mattress all crusty now.

  • Woohoo! I love breaking in a new ANYTHING! I can’t wait to break in a new job.

  • I feel for you. My bed IS cat territory and commando dashes across the bed are a nightly occurrence for me. Not to mention burrowing under the sheets for warmth next to me, and woe to me for accidentally rolling on one of my cats once late at night. The funny thing is the silly creatures spend much of the day sleeping, so I can’t for the life of me figure out why they’d need more sleep on and around me at night. All the same, I can’t imagine life without them.

  • One of our cats comes to bed every night screaming at us. She then circles us while staring & screaming, before finally settling down to sleep. She is up before the alarm screaming for breakfast most mornings. Gotta love her I suppose.

  • Mustn’t upset the cats.

  • Bwahahaha – have fun

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *